Vedic Astrology - Science Of Light  |   A Pilot Study By Mathina Maideen

Legal Astrology

Knowledge And Application Of Vedic Astrology For The Legal Profession

The Horoscopic Diagram

The south indian format of the chart is the horoscopic diagram of the zodiac, which can be imagined as a circular belt, divided into 12 signs (or houses) of 30 degrees each.

The 12 signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces in that order and all the zodiac signs have distinctive characteristics.

This format of the horoscopic diagram and the order of the signs are constants and they never change.

When planetary positions are computed based on the time and place of birth of an individual, it is called the Natal or the Rasi Chart. There are 2 kinds of Natal Charts that are commonly used - the Lagna Chart which uses the Ascendant as the reference point and the Moon Chart which uses the Chandra (Moon) as the reference point.

A Transit Chart or the Gochara Chart is the term used for a present snapshot of the heavens and is often read together with the Natal Chart for predictions.

For every natal chart, and also the transit charts, some divisional charts are considered. Of those divisional charts, the most commonly studied chart is known as the Navamsha Chart which is the 9th divisional chart. Other important divisional charts are the Hora (2nd divisional), Drekkana (3rd divisional), Dwadasamsa (12th divisional) and the Trimsamsa (30th divisional) charts. These charts are sometimes analysed to figure out the strength of planets which is referred to as the shadvarga strength of a planet.

Sometimes, astrologers make predictions based on when and where a question is asked. The chart is generated based on the time, date and place of asking of the question and such a chart is known as the Prasna Chart.

Again, the format of the diagram and the order of signs always remain the same for any of the charts.