Vedic Astrology - Science Of Light  |   A Pilot Study By Mathina Maideen

Legal Astrology

Knowledge And Application Of Vedic Astrology For The Legal Profession

The Stars Of The Zodiac

The zodiac comprising the 12 signs is also divided into 27 stars known as Nakshatras, as illustrated in this circular diagram.

Every Nakshatra is further divided into 4 parts totalling 108 parts for the 27 Nakshatras.

Every sign of the zodiac, beginning from Aries, contains 2.25 parts of Nakshatras or 9 parts of stars.

The names of the stars beginning from Aries are, Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigasira, Ardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Aslesha, Magha, Purvaphalguni, Uttaraphalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishaka, Anuradha, Jyestha, Moola, Purvashadh, Uttarashadh, Shravana, Dhanishtha, Satabisha, Purvabhadra, Uttarabhadra and Revathi in that order.

The sign and star in which the Moon is positioned at the time of birth of an individual is known respectively as the Moon Sign (Janma Rasi) and Star (Janma Nakshatra) of the individual.

The Moon Sign and Janma Star, together with the Ascendant, has a profound influence on the native.

Each star is made up of 13 1/3 degrees or 13 degrees and 20 minutes, totalling 360 degrees for the 27 stars. Each part of a star consists of 3 1/3 degrees or 3 degrees and 20 minutes which will correctly add up to the 13 degrees and 20 minutes that constitutes a star.